IFOAM president Katherine Di Matteo
Greeting 2010

It is exciting and uplifting that there is the One World Award to celebrate inspirational achievements of individuals especially in these times when news stories from around the world fill us with anxiety, uncertainty and pessimism. Thanks to the vision of Joseph Wilhelm of Rapunzel Naturkost this international award was presented for the first time in 2008 to acknowledge creative engagement, innovative performance and the courage to support a future worth living.

IFOAM is proud to be a partner and patron of the One World Award and to be among the jury members to select the 2010 award recipient. It is also our great honor to have selected again this year the One World Lifetime Achievement Award, which honors the Indian organic pioneer and farmer Mr. Bhaskar H. Save.

This year’s honorees and the other finalists exemplify how dedication to a sustainable and just world can make a difference, and provide hope. The individuals and their projects considered for this year’s One World Award have in common a holistic and community approach that transforms the concept of sustainability into real social, economic and environmental solutions. IFOAM applauds all the finalists for their achievements.

The 2010 One World Award gives well-deserved recognition to Rachel Agola on behalf of the organic “push & pull “farmers in Kenya and to Dr. Hans Rudolf Herren for their heartfelt work for the greater good. Their dedication and accomplishments encourage us to be caring stewards of our global resources. Thank you and congratulations!

Katherine DiMatteo IFOAM President